The Faux Earflap hats have been such fun to make! I started on the smaller one, with the Dk-weight yarn…but I underestimated the amount I had left on the skein, which was partly spent on another project, so I ran out of avocado Rowan felted tweed before I finished the crown. I went online to order some more, since there’s none of that on hand at the LYS, and there was one skein left.

In the meantime, I whipped through a couple of more hats, with a quickness!

Knitted helmet hat

Knitted helmet with twisted-cord straps

This one took me a couple of hours, max. It’s the Helmet on page 37 of a new pattern book Knitted Beanies & Slouchy Hats by Diane Serviss. Rather than the featured two-toned helmet in the book, I chose to make mine all one color and add braid-like straps of twisted cord with tassels. I was happy to use a big skein of Lion Brand Wool-Ease Thick & Quick super bulky yarn in the color Oatmeal, that I got for Christmas from some of my offspring.

Next was the Fairway model hat from the book, which also went along pretty fast in a Chunky Concord Tweed (about 90% wool) by Universal Yarn in Liberty Blue, with size 10 1/2 needles.

knitted slouchy hat

“Fairway” reverse-stockinette stitch slouchy beanie

Here in America, it’s the last day of the 7th (or is it 5th? most recent one anyway)season of Downton Abbey, so we’re waiting with bated breath to see what twists of fate await the players, and what savory wardrobe and style-set highlights will grab our senses tonight. Oooh, the hats! The ribbons, the covered buttons…the lush fabrics, the starched linens!

